Anthems

Standard

Two weeks, Three days.  Is it pathetic that I have that figured out?  Whatever. That’s how long it’s been since Jamal and I ended our relationship.  That’s how long I’ve wondered what the providential reason is (because there is always one, right?) for the split.  That’s how long I’ve been answering questions asked by other people.  That’s how long I’ve felt comforted and protected and fought for by the people around me.

Forever.  The math was significantly easier on this one.  That’s how long God has been good. 

I can be in a relationship with the man that I love, and God will be good.  He can break up with me and that relationship can be taken away, and God will be good.  The abundance and beauty and perfection of God’s goodness is no less or more when I get my way or don’t get my way.  It’s always abounding.  It’s always perfect.  My definition of good may change, my perspective of good may be altered, but that goodness is as constant as the God who possesses and grants it.

I sing because You are good.

And I dance because You are good.

And I shout because You are good.

You are good to me.

With a cry of praise, my heart will proclaim

You are good.

Some days really suck.  Some days are really good. Death. Grief. Sadness. Worry. Pain. Protection. Peace. Praise. Wholeness. Life.

In death,

In life,

I’m confident and covered by

the power of Your great love!

In a season that for 2000 years has signified death bringing life, it’s really cool that Jesus would let me experience on the smallest of scales how my own death can bring life.  I’ve seen it over and over and over again: In my brokenness, He makes me whole.

What can make me whole again?

Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

One response »

Leave a comment