Another Frost.

Standard

I’m in a season of doubt and frustration.  I keep thinking spring is here.  That newness is about to surround me.  That growth and life are present.  Then it decides to snow.  Again.  Once I’ve seen a flower bloom, the last thing I want is another frost.

Tonight I saw this quote on Facebook:  “God has no bad thought towards us. Only a desire to see us conform to the image of Jesus.” I don’t know who said it or where it’s from, but here’s what I know-  This season that seems unending and hard and so so tiring is purposed to make me more like Jesus.  This season that makes me want to give up on everything even when I know that that’s not what I’m supposed to do is purposed to make me more like Jesus.  This testing is going to make me more like Him.

I hate it.  I hate going through the fire.  I hate being poked and prodded.  I hate being broken and torn and beat up.  I wish there was an easier way, but there isn’t.  This is the way God chose because it’s the absolute best for me right now.  This is the most effective way to make me more like Him.

I’m learning to keep promises.  I’m learning to fight as hard as I possibly can even when I’m down.  I’m learning to seek the Lord with every single thought because that’s the only place I am finding life.  He’s teaching me to recognize all of the broken cisterns in my life.  He’s teaching me how to love without abandon and without condition.  He’s teaching me that my life isn’t about me and what I want and how happy I can be- It’s about Him and what He wants and how I can honor Him with all of me.

This season sucks.  It really does.  But when the spring comes around, I believe whole-heartedly that it will be so much more appreciated because I will see the beauty from ashes.

Leave a comment